St. Louis Personal Injury Attorneys
Serving St. Louis, Missouri and Illinois
When you get pulled over for a DWI or DUI, you could lose your license in as little as 15 days, even if you are later found innocent in court.
When you get pulled over and the officer asks you to take a breath test, you have two choices: either take the test or refuse. If you take the test and fail, meaning your blood alcohol level is a 0.08 or above, the Missouri Department of Revenue will suspend your license 15 days later, even if it’s your first offense, and even if the court later finds that you’re innocent of driving while intoxicated.
The only way to fight this suspension is to request an administrative hearing during those first 15 days.
If you refuse to take the breath test, then the Missouri Department of Revenue will automatically revoke your license for 1 year. In this case, you only have 30 days to fight your license revocation.
Either of these actions taken by the Missouri Department of Revenue is completely independent of the ticket you received from the officer summoning you to appear in court. Your court date might be 2 or 3 months in the future, but you still need to fight the Missouri Department of Revenue immediately.
Even if you beat this first license suspension, you still have to worry about what happens in court. The judge could sentence you to serve jail time, pay fines, pay restitution, pay the police for taking the trouble to arrest you, do community service, attend AA meetings, complete expensive substance abuse programs, and more. And if you end up being convicted or plead guilty and the charge of DWI or DUI goes onto your driving record, your license will be suspended or revoked, even if you beat the first suspension for just failing the breath test.
If you get pulled over for a DWI or DUI, there are two easy ways for you to lose your license:
· Failing or refusing to take the breath test
· Being convicted of the DWI or DUI ticket.
Sounds complicated? Well, it is. It’s extremely complicated, we simplify the whole process. It’s actually much more complex than I’m making it sound, and it gets even worse if you’ve had a prior DWI or DUI. When you get a DWI, if it’s your first or your fifth, you need to talk to a DUI /DWI attorney right away. The experienced St. Louis DUI/DWI attorneys at the law firm of Brown & Brown are available to aid you with their proficient representation in your DWI/DUI case to enable you to be assured that your case turns out in the most favorable way possible.
If you are seriously injured anywhere in Missouri just dial 3’s: (314) 333-3333 or (573) 333-3333. In Illinois, just dial 8’s: (618) 888-8888.